top of page

History of The Miss Placer County Pageant

The Miss Placer County Pageant has been an integral part of the Placer County Fair since the pageant was first held in 1937 with Marcella Walker taking the title.  At the time, the queen was chosen on her ability to promote the fair by selling tickets!  The pageant has been interrupted seldom over the years, including a brief interruption and during the war years.  In 2000, there was not a Miss Placer County pageant held due to no pageant company to produce it.  The following is a list of Miss Placer County titleholders over the decades.  If you have any information to supplement or correct this list, please contact us!


2023-Bailey Breen

2022-Lindsay McLaggan

2021-Emily Costa

2020-Audrey Showen

2019-Emily Costa

2018-Kathryn Moore

2017 - Emily Demure

2016-Alora Martin

2015- Virgie Velazquez

2014-Sarah Sims

2013-Lauren Lagge

2012-Sydney Lorek

2011-Shawna Bruce

2010-Rachel Hunt

2009-Meghan Zygalinski

2008-Kristi Farrington

2007-Ashley Gibian

2006-Kirsten Bowers

2005-Jessica Meyer

2004-Ashley Dawn Smith

2003-Cassandra Caron

2002-Tiffany McCollum

2001-Jacquline Aguilar

2000-No Miss pageant 

1999-Jennifer Beggerly

1998-Angela Race

1997- Kathryn Estes

1996- Holly Bowling



1995- Angela Cabral

1994- Meredith Meadows
1993- Tiffany McDonald

1992- Kelly Ruark

1991- Andrea Jenkins

1990- Tracy Heschong

1989- Kristine Nickerson
1988- Laurie Winter
1987- Shannon Haws-Moreland

1986- Mindy Hobart
1985- Michelle Harrison
1984- Denise Good
1983- Gail Fitzpatrick
1982- Debbie Simmons
1981- Dixie Cheney

1981- Nancy Caldwell
1980- Jacqueline Rowe

1979- Martha Rugan

1978- Sharon Smith

1977- Christie Gudath Gade (or Laurie Smith)




1976- Wendy Wight

1975- Diane Cheney
1974- Linda Newman
1973- Deborah Arbaugh
1972- Anna Lee Wright
1971- Jane Duff

1970-Tiny Blaylock

1969- Pamela Lee Dawson

1968-Diana Johnson

1967- Jean Simpson

1966- Judy Persinger
1965- Cathi Kennedy

1964-Linda Duarte

1963- Susanne Tropper 

1962- Sherry Martin

1961- Terry Sanborn

1960- Beverly Gunkle

1959- Kathy Good
1958- Iris Sims

1957- Vickie Seifullin

1956-Susan Inglett



1955- Trudy Caddel

1954- Joanne Menchinella

1953-Marylenn Bottomlee

1952- multiple queens-Betty Garino, Melba Osella Alvina Priesser and Ruth Moore

1951 - Barbara Erickson
1950 - Doris Tripp
1949 - Betty Garino
1948 - Melba Osella
1947 - Ruth Evans

1946 No Pageant held

1945 No Pageant held

1944 No Pageant held

1943 No Pageant held

1942 No Pageant held

1941 - Roberta Botts

1940 -No Information
1939 - Alvena Preisser
1937 and 1938 - Marcella Walker


bottom of page